Copyright 2012-2015 Dogstar Flyball

FB_FindUsOnFacebook-320 Dogstar_Logo

What's it all about

DogStar Diddy Dogs Flyball started as a dog sport in the late 1960s in the USA, when dog trainers combined scent hurdle racing with the retrieval of tennis balls. A ball launcher was designed by Herbert Wagner, who is credited with making the first real Flyball box. The first ever tournament was held in 1983.


Flyball is a relay race in which 2 teams of 4 dogs race against each other over a line of 4 jumps to a box.  When the first dog presses the spring loaded box a ball is released which it catches, then runs back over the jumps whilst carrying the ball.  The jump height is determined by the shoulder height of the smallest dog in the team. Each dog must cross the finish line before the next dog begins. The first team to have all four dogs cross the finish line error free wins the heat.  Each race is the best of 5.


The British Flyball Association holds sanctioned tournaments throughout the year, and there are currently 432 registered teams with seed times. The current fastest time for a UK team is 15.05 seconds, the world record time is 14.657 seconds held by a US team.


DogStar have competed in the British Flyball Championships in 2011, 2012, 2013,2014 2015, 2016, 2017 & 2018 with DogStar Devils winning their division to be divisional champions in 2013.  DogStar Diddy Dogs won their division in 2016 & 2018.  In 2017 both teams DogStar & DogSar Diplomats won their respective divisions.